top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

What it Means to be a Dietetics Professional



I now have just a few weeks left of my 10-month dietetic internship and will soon be eligible to sit for my exam and earn my RD credential. Throughout my time in this internship, I've gained knowledge and insight into dietetics. School prepares you by giving you a baseline knowledge, but this internship helps you understand what working as a dietetic professional really entails.


So, how has this internship better prepared me to be a dietetics professional?


● I KNOW HOW TO APPLY MY KNOWLEDGE


When I started my internship I felt confident about my skills. I had gotten excellent grades in

school, and I felt like I was comfortable with the material I had learned. Once I started my clinical

rotation, I realized that while I had a base knowledge there was so much that I didn’t know. The clinical dietitians I worked with had a much more in-depth knowledge about disease states, lab values, micronutrients, and so much more.


What I learned during this rotation is that as you apply your knowledge in real-life situations,

affecting real people, this is where you begin developing a more in-depth understanding. As you

work as a dietetics professional you learn what topics come up more and the more you apply your

knowledge in real-life situations the easier it becomes to have an in-depth understanding of these

topics.


● I HAVE MENTORS, FRIENDS, & CONNECTIONS

Having a relationship with other professionals in the field is a huge part of being a good dietitian. I now have friends and mentors in a number of different sectors of dietetics. I know these people will support me in my journey and help me be a better dietitian.


You never know where you might end up in this profession. There are so many areas to work in

and as you grow so might your interests. Being able to reach out to other healthcare professionals whether it be to support you in a new venture, understand a topic of their expertise, or ask for professional advice, having other similar professionals in your corner will help you

thrive as a dietitian.


Already, I have had multiple preceptors offer me advice on my resume, job search, cover letter, and offer to be a reference. I know once I am working in the field as a dietitian I will be able to lean on these relationships when I need support and I will be able to do the same for them in the future.



● I FEEL CONFIDENT EVEN IF I DON’T KNOW THE ANSWER


I used to think that if I didn’t know about a particular topic it was because I was just a student and that once I became a professional I would know all of it. I’m going to let you in on a secret; even seasoned healthcare professionals don’t know it all.


There are so many different topics and specialties within dietetics and you most likely won’t know it all. But what I've learned throughout this internship is that even if you don't know an answer to a particular question or about a certain topic, you are still the healthcare professional.


As a healthcare professional, you have in-depth knowledge about nutrition and dietetics and are a great source of information for your patients. On top of this, If you don’t know about a particular topic, you have access to and knowledge of reputable sources to find the answer.





Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page